Maria Thacker, President & CEO of Georgia Bio, Elected as New Board Chair for the Council of State Bioscience Associations (CSBA)

The Council of State Bioscience Associations (CSBA) today announced the election of new board members to its Board of Directors for the next two-year term (2022-2023). CSBA also announced new board leadership, including new Chair of the Board of Directors, Maria Thacker, President & CEO of Georgia Bio.

“We are thrilled to announce our new slate of incredibly accomplished and esteemed board leaders for the next exciting phase of CSBA,” said Michele Oshman, Executive Director of Council of State Bioscience Associations (CSBA) and Vice President of External Affairs at the Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO). “From the global threats of pandemics and climate change to the growing impact of bioscience on local jobs and economies, our industry faces many important challenges today. We look forward to continuing to work together across our new board leadership, members, and stakeholders to confront these threats and expand opportunities for innovation.”

CSBA is pleased to announce the following leaders and members of the board of directors for the 2022-2023 term:

• Maria Thacker, Board Chair
President & CEO, Georgia Bio
• Kelvyn Cullimore, Board Member
President & CEO, BioUtah
• Michael Fleming, Board Member
President, Delaware Bio
• Laura Gunter, Board Member
President, NCBIO
• Sonia Hall, Board Member
President & CEO, BioKansas
• Debbie Hart, Past Chair
President & CEO, BioNJ
• Liisa Bozinovic, CSBI Representative
Executive Director, Oregon Bio

The new leaders and members of the board of directors will join existing members serving for the 2021-2022 term:

• John Conrad, Board Member
President & CEO, iBIO
• Mike Guerra, Board Member
President & CEO, California Life Sciences
• Dawn Hocevar, Board Member
President & CEO, BioCT

“I am honored to be the new CSBA Board Chair and pledge to continue elevating the critical work of state biotechnology associations nationwide,” said Maria Thacker, Board Chair, CSBA and President & CEO, Georgia Bio. ”Our associations play a central role in championing the groundbreaking work of the biotechnology sector as we innovate for human health discoveries, agricultural advancements, and environmental sustainability.”

“It has been my honor to serve as the CSBA Board Chair over these last two years,” said Debbie Hart, Past Chair, CSBA and President & CEO, BioNJ. “Our state associations have faced immense challenges on the policy arena as well as an unprecedented global pandemic. I am proud of what we have collectively accomplished in helping to stave off grave policy proposals, offering unique educational opportunities, and supporting our Members, all despite operating remotely in a time of immense change for our country. I am delighted to see the very talented Maria Thacker take over as the new CSBA Chair and look forward to supporting her in that role and to our ongoing collaboration on behalf of our industry.”

About The Council of State Bioscience Associations

The Council of State Bioscience Associations (CSBA) is a confederation of state-based, nonprofit trade organizations each governed by its own board of directors convened by the Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO). The common mission of the members of the CSBA is to promote public understanding and to advocate for public policies that support patient access to lifesaving therapies and the responsible development of the bioscience industry.

Read original article here